Young Harris College announces inaugural class for Athletics Hall of Fame, induction set for Nov. 15

Photo Gallery

YOUNG HARRIS, Ga. – Young Harris College Director of Athletics Randy Dunn has announced the inaugural class for the Athletics Hall of Fame.

Tom Forkner, ’37, Zell Miller, ’51, John Adcock, ’57, Luke Rushton (posthumously), Nick Markakis, ’03, and the 2006 women’s soccer team that won the NJCAA Division I National Championship will be inducted into the YHC Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday, Nov. 15, during a special ceremony held at The Ridges Resort in Hiawassee, Ga., as part of the College’s annual Homecoming weekend festivities.

The YHC Athletics Hall of Fame was recently established by the College’s Board of Trustees. The purpose of the Hall of Fame is to give special recognition to those individuals whose athletics achievements and contributions have brought honor and distinction to the College.

“I am extremely honored to announce our inaugural class of inductees into our newly established Athletics Hall of Fame,” said Dunn. “YHC has a rich history of individuals that are very deserving of this honor, and I believe this first group truly sets the standard for future classes.”

The reception will begin at 6 p.m. in the Red Bank Room followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m. Tickets are available for $40 per person, and tables for eight are also available. For more information or to purchase tickets, contact Bobbie Thompson at (828) 361-3409 or by Monday, Nov. 11.